top of page

ACI 2022

Ninth International Conference on Animal-Computer Interaction 5-8 December 2022, hosted by Northumbria University, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK. 


ACI is the leading International Conference on Animal-Computer Interaction. It is a highly multidisciplinary event drawing researchers and practitioners from diverse backgrounds to share and discuss work and topics related to the research and design of computing-enabled and interactive technology for and with animals. We are keen to be as inclusive as possible. We wish to welcome a wide range of contributions and participants to the conference, promote a constructive dialogue around the animal-centred research and design of computing-enabled systems, and foster the development of ACI as a discipline. 


This year's conference theme is Defining Tomorrow. The theme acknowledges the rapid growth in technology for animals with new products coming onto the market, normalising the use of technology in many human-animal relationships, and asks: where should we go next? 


Submissions might address topics such as: how to conduct ACI research in a world where commercial design and deployment of technology for animals outpaces academic thought; the role of technology in human-animal relationships; studies and/or analysis of large-scale technology for animals deployments, considerations in the broader context of technology for animal use, or methods and reflections on studying the next generation of technology for animals. Submissions related to this year's conference theme are especially welcome, but we also appreciated high-quality articles on any topic related to ACI.


Submissions will be peer-reviewed, and accepted submissions will be included in the ACI2022 Conference Proceedings published in the ACM Digital Library. This includes accepted full and short papers, poster and demo extended abstracts, workshop extended abstracts, and doctoral consortium submissions.

Submission Tracks and deadlines:

  • Research papers (abstracts 19 May 2022, complete submissions 26 May 2022)

  • Workshop proposals (20 June 2022)

  • Late-breaking work, posters, and demos (11 August 2022)

  • Doctoral consortium tracks (19 August 2022)

bottom of page