Conference Program

Monday, 8th November

W1. ReptileJam 2021: Designing Enrichment for Reptiles in Captivity

9:00 AM – 5:00 PM EST (2:00 PM – 10:00 PM GMT)
https://www.zoojam.org  

Fiona French, London Metropolitan University
Leah Williams, Chester Zoo
Jon Charles Coe, Jon Coe Design, Pty. Ltd.
Lewis Single, Indianapolis Zoo
Eduardo Fernandez, University of Adelaide
Chris Martin, Indianapolis Zoo

W2. Technologies for Working Animals

9:00 AM – 2:00 PM EST  (2:00 PM – 7:00 PM GMT) 
https://www.animals.technology/aci-21-workshop/

Charlotte Robinson, University of Sussex
Jai Farrell, Swinburne University of Technology
Mia Cobb, University of Melbourne

Tuesday, 9th November

W3. Digital Technologies in Nature
2:00 AM – 5:00 AM EST (7:00 AM – 10:00 AM GMT)
5:00 PM – 8:00 PM  EST (10:00 PM – 1:00 AM  GMT + 1 day)
https://www.ozaci.org/wildnature

Sarah Webber, University of Melbourne
Wally Smith, University of Melbourne
Jessie Oliver, Queensland University of Technology  
Julia Hoy, University of Queensland  
Kellie Vella, Queensland University of Technology   
Margot Brereton, Queensland University of Technology  
Helena Bender, University of Melbourne  
Alasdair Davies, Arribada Initiative  
Kate Judith, University of Southern Queensland

 

Wednesday, 10th November

9:00 AM – 9:30 AM EST (2:00 PM – 2:30 PM GMT)

Welcome, Patrick C. Shih, Indiana University Bloomington

 
9:30 AM – 10:30 AM EST (2:30 PM – 3:30PM GMT)
Opening Keynote: Evaluating the efficacy of service dog interventions
Maggie O’Haire, Purdue University
Associate Professor of Human-Animal Interaction
Department of Psychological Sciences
College of Health and Human Sciences

Dr. Marguerite (Maggie) O’Haire is an internationally recognized Fulbright Scholar who is currently an Associate Professor of Human-Animal Interaction in the Center for the Human-Animal Bond at Purdue University. She earned her BA in Psychology from Vassar College in New York and her PhD in Psychology from The University of Queensland in Australia. Her research program focuses on the unique and pervasive ways that humans interact with animals. From research with household pets to highly trained service animals, her findings have been instrumental in evaluating the effects of human-animal interactions. She has received funding from three different NIH institutes (NICHD, NCCIH, NCATS) to fund her human-animal interaction research. Check out an interview with Dr. O’Haire and NIH Medline Plus and her "Meet the Anthrozoologist" Interview to see her advice on becoming a human-animal interaction researcher.

Dr. O’Haire’s research topics have included classroom-based, animal-assisted intervention for children with autism spectrum disorder and the effects of service dogs for veterans with posttraumatic stress disorder and their families. In addition to her peer-reviewed publications and textbook chapters, her work has also been highlighted in over 1,000 media stories around the globe, including NPR, the Wall Street Journal, and the New York Times. Dr. O’Haire has won the International Society for Anthrozoology (ISAZ) Early Career Award and the Young Alumnae Achievement Award from Vassar College for her exceptional professional achievements. At Purdue, she currently enjoys teaching and mentoring students in her productive human-animal interaction lab.

10:30 AM – 11:00 AM EST (3:30 PM – 4:00PM GMT)

Break

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST (4:00 PM – 5:30PM GMT)

Paper Session 1: Human-Animal-Tech Interactions

S1.P1. Leashing the city: Dog-Leash-Human Entanglements and the Urban Space

       Yaara Sadetzki, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

Orit Hirsch-Matsioulas, Haifa University

S1.P2. Supporting Animal-Mediated Interventions at Home: The Role of Animals and Technology to Facilitate Daily Activities

Patricia Pons, Universitat Politècnica de València
Jorge Montaner-Marco, Universitat Politècnica de València  
Javier Jaen, Universitat Politècnica de València  
Sara Cortés-Amador, University of Valencia  
Nazaret Hernández-Espeso, Catholic University of Valencia 

 

S1.P3. Privacy labels should go to the dogs

James McParlan, Northumbria University
Dirk van der Linden, Northumbria University

S1.P4. Exploring Digitalization of Animal-Assisted Reading

Daphna Golan-Shemesh, Kelevavy Project, Israel
Tsippy Lotan, Kelevavy Project, Israel
Yana Zadorozhnaya, ‘Dogs for Life’ Organization, Russia
Anna Zamansky, University of Haifa
Tamar Brilant, University of Haifa
Kira Ablamunits, University of Haifa
Dirk van der Linden, Northumbria University

12:30 PM – 1:00 PM EST (5:30 PM – 6:00 PM GMT)

Break

1:00 PM –2:30 PM EST (6:00 PM – 7:30 PM GMT)

Paper Session 2: Sensor-driven Systems for Dogs

 

S2.P1. Wearable Sensors for Canine Nosework Interaction

Xingyu Li, Georgia Institute of Technology
Wendell Hom, Georgia Institute of Technology
Jiaying Wu, Georgia Institute of Technology
Michael Verges, Georgia Institute of Technology 
Melody Jackson, Georgia Institute of Technology

S2.P2. From Ideation to Deployment: A Narrative Case Study of Citizen Science Supported Wearables for Raising Guide Dogs

Timothy Holder, North Carolina State University
Evan Williams, North Carolina State University
Devon Martin, North Carolina State University
Alice Kligerman, North Carolina State University
Emily Summers, North Carolina State University
Zach Cleghern, North Carolina State University
James Dieffenderfer, North Carolina State University
Jane Russenberger, Guiding Eyes for the Blind  
David Roberts, North Carolina State University
Alper Bozkurt, North Carolina State University

S2.P3. ECG and Respiration Reconstruction from Inertial Measurement Unit at Different Positions for Dog Welfare Monitoring During Sleep

Marc Foster, North Carolina State University
Jianxun Wang, North Carolina State University
Evan Williams, North Carolina State University
David Roberts, North Carolina State University
Alper Bozkurt, North Carolina State University

 

2:30 PM – 3:00 PM EST (7:30 PM – 8:00 PM GMT)
Break

 

3:00 PM – 4:30 PM EST (8:00 PM – 9:30PM GMT)

Doctoral Consortium
 

Mentee: Tali Boneh-Shitrit, Open University of Israel
Mentor: Dave Roberts, North Carolina State University

 

Mentee: Marcelo Feighelstein, University of Haifa
Mentor: Melody Jackson, Georgia Institute of Technology

 

Mentee: Nareed Hashem Farhat, University of Haifa
Mentor: Ceara Byrne, Georgia Institute of Technology

 

Mentee: Aslihan Tokat, Middle East Technical University
Mentor: Anna Zamansky, University of Haifa; Dirk van der Linden, Northumbria University

 

Mentee: Ariel Oren, University of Haifa
Mentor: Clara Mancini, Open University

4:30 PM – 6:00 PM EST (9:30 PM – 11:00 PM GMT)
Social Hours

 

Thursday, 11th November

 

9:00 AM – 10:30 AM EST (2:00 PM – 3:30PM GMT)

Keynote: Automated Methods for Great Ape Cognitive Research and Enrichment
Christopher Flynn Martin, Indianapolis Zoo
Research Scientist

 

Dr. Christopher Flynn Martin is a Research Scientist at The Indianapolis Zoo. He earned a BA in Psychology from The University of Pennsylvania and a PhD in Primatology from The Primate Research Institute of Kyoto University. He is an adjunct professor in the Informatics Department of Indiana University and the founder of Zenrichment, a company that designs and builds computer touchscreen devices and software for animal cognitive research and enrichment in zoos. Dr. Martin’s research interests include great ape social cognition, communication, imitation, and strategic reasoning. At Indianapolis Zoo he conducts daily touchscreen-based research with the orangutans at the Simon Skjodt International Orangutan Center, which is equipped with a system he designed that accommodates visitor/orangutan interaction over shared touch-panel interface, creating an immersive educational opportunity for the public and advancing the Center’s goal of orangutan conservation.

10:30 AM – 11:00 AM EST (3:30 PM – 4:00PM GMT)
Break

 

11:00 AM – 12:30 PM EST (4:00 PM – 5:30PM GMT)

Paper Session 3: Methods & New Directions

S3.P1. Reflecting on Methods in Animal Computer Interaction: The Novelty Effect and Habituation

Ilyena Hirskyj-Douglas, University of Glasgow
Sarah Webber, University of Melbourne

S3.P2. Smart Bee Houses: Designing to Support Urban Pollination

Nancy Smith, Pratt Institute

S3.P3.Payload Drones and ACI: Drone Navigation System Prototype

Cassie Kresnye, Indiana University Bloomington
Sam Rasmussen, Indiana University Bloomington
Mia Gallardo, Indiana University Bloomington
Patrick Shih, Indiana University Bloomington

 

12:30 PM – 1:00 PM EST (5:30 PM – 6:00 PM GMT)
Break

1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EST (6:00 PM – 7:00 PM GMT)

Poster Session

Poster 1. Chameleo: walk like a chameleon detection with AI

Shahar Gofer, Ben Gurion University
Vanessa Gris, Kyoto University
Ariel Oren, University of Haifa
Liran Sagi, Ben Gurion University
Dirk van der Linden, Northumbria University

Poster 2. Alexa, Play Fetch! A Review of Alexa Skills for Pets

Justin Edwards, University College Dublin
Orla Cooney, University College Dublin
Rachel Edwards, University College Dublin

Poster 3. WOOFlex: A Wearable Device to Aid Canine Flexibility Exercises

Shuyi Sun, UC Davis
Gabriela Vega, Universidad Peruana de Ciencias Aplicadas
Denis Marcellin-Little, UC Davis
Katia Vega, UC Davis

Poster 4. Into the Wild: Opportunities and Challenges for Animal-Computer Interaction in Wildlife Conservation

Devin Nieusma, Conservation X Labs


2:00 PM – 3:00 PM EST (7:00 PM – 8:00 PM GMT)

ACI Townhall Meeting

3:00 PM – 3:30 PM EST (8:00 PM – 8:30 PM GMT)
Break

3:30 PM – 4:30 PM EST (8:30 PM – 9:30PM GMT)

Closing Keynote: Direct Observation for User-Centered Design:  Making the Case with Gorillas
Christena Nippert-Eng, Indiana University Bloomington
Professor of Informatics
Co-Director, Animal Informatics program
Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering
 
Author:
Watching Closely: A Guide to Ethnographic Observation 2015 Oxford University Press
Gorillas Up Close 2016 Henry Holt
What is Baby Gorilla Doing? 2017 Henry Holt

Christena Nippert-Eng is a sociologist and Professor of Informatics at IUB. Her scholarly interests include cognition, culture, gender, privacy, time, space, everyday life, ethnography, user-centered design and, most recently, the social behavior of nonhuman animals, especially the rest of the great apes.

Dr. Nippert-Eng's work has been featured extensively in the media, ranging from NPR's "Talk of the Nation" and programs on PBS and MSNBC to the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Newsweek, Working Mother and Fast Company. She has served as a consultant to a number of companies including HP, Motorola, Gillette, Steelcase, and Hilton Hotels.

4:30 PM – 5:00 PM EST (9:30 PM – 10:00PM GMT)

Closing, Patrick Shih, Indiana University Bloomington

5:00 PM – 6:00 PM EST (10:00 PM – 11:00PM GMT)

Social Hours
Maggie O'Haire